Quarterlife Crisis of a Millenial

21506_10208389510841971_5270492695459792255_n

Saturday night. In my bed staring at my only glow in the dark star that was left after the rest fell because the sticker was not tacky enough. I feel like I am this star. Lost. All alone. I am 26 and I feel old. Been working in a call center for seven years made me feel this way. Whenever I open my facebook, I see my newsfeed filled with photos of babies, engagement, weddings and cheesy couple selfies. I am not sure if I would hit like or just ignore. When most of the people have figured things with their lives, here I am on my computer writing this.

 

It was a boring Thursday afternoon at work and I assisted a customer who needed help in getting his Internet fixed. In the middle of the call we started having small talks until our topic was about his life as a businessman. He was 22 when he started his shipping business. He bought his first truck with the help of his savings and loans. I remember he was telling me how it was never easy when he was still starting but because of his hardwork and perserverance he was able to make his business successful. He started with one truck and now he has twenty and his business is doing great. I was fascinated because at such a very young age he knew what he wanted. Because of his success he was able to travel to many countries. Bought a house on top of a cliff and living his life. He was having a great time of his life until one day, in the middle of the business’ success, he had a major breakdown. He bought eight cars just because he was bored with his money. He felt unhappy and bored dedspite of his acheivement. He left his country and flew to Brazil and lived there for two years. He loved being there so much and I can tell by his voice that he fell in love with the Country. He managed to get himself back on track after the break. I shared to him how I am at the moment, that I am lost and desperate to break the cycle. I told him about my dreams and what I want at present. I am positive that the reason why I havent made any actions is because I am scared of failure. That someday I will regret and blame my self for making mistakes. He was kind enough to give me great advices and encouragement. The last advice he gave me was “TAKE RISKS. YOU HAVE NOTHING TO LOSE.” At that moment I knew I was meant to speak with this man that day. Most of all he reminded me to take time for my own happiness. Of what really makes me happy. I felt energised and inspired after we hung up. I told my self that I can do it if I want it.

 

At this age, lucky are we if we get to figure things out in our lives early. I don’t know what my priorities are at the moment but all I know is I just want to be happy. I have high hopes and dreams and I know that someday things will all be clear to me. Someday I will figure it out but I just have to enjoy life right now and be happy.

One thought on “Quarterlife Crisis of a Millenial

  1. indeed we must try…if we failed at least we tried. if we succeed it is because we tried.
    if we don’t do nothing its not life

Leave a comment